Yamas & Niyamas

The Yamas & Niyamas are the the do’s and don’ts or the ethical disciplines and comprise the first two limbs of Yoga’s eight-fold path. They are the foundation of skilful living.  Yama tells us what to avoid doing because it would do harm to the individual and that of society. ‘Yama’  is usually translated as ‘restraint’.

The five Yamas are:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truthfulness)
  • Asteya (non-stealing)
  • Brahmacharya (control of the senses)
  • Aparigraha (non-possessiveness)

Niyama is the second step in the Eightfold Path of Patanjali. Niyama means ‘observance’ and describe actions and attitudes we should cultivate to overcome the illusion of separation and the suffering it causes.

The five Niyamas are:

  • Saucha (purity)
  • Santosa (contentment)
  • Tapas (austerity)
  • Svadhyaya (self-study)
  • Isvara Pranidhana (surrendering to God)

Categories: Freedom, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Yamas & Niyamas

  1. Pingback: Living Simple in Abundance | Yoga Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: